Erik Chisholm: Music for Piano, Vol. 3.
Product Code: DDV24133

Erik Chisholm (1904-1965)

This is the third CD in a series of the complete piano works of Erik Chisholm. It starts in the north-west of Scotland and ends in the...
Price: £12.00   Type: CD  

ERIK CHISHOLM - Music for piano, volume 3
Piobaireachd for solo piano [14.17]
1. The Salute for Clan Ranald [7.13]
2. The Duntroon Pibroch [3.13]
3. The Desperate Battle (1.38]
4. The Chisholm Salute [2.15]
Sonatina no. 1 [7.20]
5. Grave [1.01]
6. Allegro moderato [1.29]
7. Lento [1.30]
8. Moderato e poco maestoso [3.21]
Sonatina no. 2 [7.03]
9. Allegro [2.30]
10. Andante [1.25]
11. Moderato — variation 1 [0.30]
12. Variation 2 [0.28]
13. VarIation 3 [0.22]
14. VariatIon 4 [0.24]
15. VariatIon 5 [0.24]
16. VarIation 6 [0.24]
17. VariatIon 7 [0.40]
Two Piobaireachd Laments [13.44]
18. Plobalreachd Lament no. 1 [5.36]
Plobaireachd Lament no. 2
19. Theme [1.01]
20. Varlatlon 1 [1.10]
21. VariatIon 2 [1.03]
22. VarIation 3 [1.20]
23. VariatIon 4 [3.36]
Cornish Dance Sonata [33.58]
24. The Wet Scythes [8.42]
25. Blown Spume [6.26]
26. Chin and Tongue Waggle [8.45]
27. With Clogs On [10.06]

Total playing time: [76.37]

Erik Chisholm (1904-1965)

This is the third CD in a series of the complete piano works of Erik Chisholm. It starts in the north-west of Scotland and ends in the south-west of England. In between, as evidence of his remarkable stylistic versatility, are two of the Sonatinas based upon works by European composers of the late Renaissance.

Chisholm was a Glaswegian, born and bred; but his interest in and attachment to the traditions and, especially the music, of the Highlands was to influence him throughout his life. Not least among those musical influences was that of the Highland bagpipes and, specifically, the genre of their music known commonly as piobaireachd but, more properly, as ceôl môr — the big music. Ceôl môr takes the form of variations on a theme known as the ürlar, or ground. These themes are of considerable structural interest and the variations on them develop with increasingly virtuosic demands upon the fingerwork of the solo piper — for ceôl mér is always played as a solo. Chishoim was fascinated by the form, and six of the tracks on this CD are of pieces based upon traditional ceôl môr.

The MacCrimmons were one of the leading dynasties of pipers and composers of ceàl môr, and in Chisholm’s day their historical pre-eminence was undisputed. They were hereditary pipers to the MacLeods of Dunvegan on the Island of Skye, and there on occasion you may still hear a MacCrimmon playing ceôl môr to the chieftain, Euan MacCrimmon having won the famous Silver Chanter in 2006.

Chisholm seems to have thought of himself as a direct musical descendant of the MacCrimmons, citing his own McLeod ancestry as a kind of justification:

“I now flnd myself fspeaking, musically, in the characteristic idiom of the MacCrimmons (a great family o fPiobaireachd composers), through a twentieth century technique, and writing for the modern orchestra instead of for the Highland bagpipe. Virtually a descent of the MacCrimmon line, and I am occupied with the same emotions to which to give expression. My mother is a McLeod, thus giving me descent from two Highland clans.”

Added to this family connection is Chisholm’s clear interest in the cultural history of the Celts and, specifically, the Gaels, manifest in the Preface to his book of Celtic Folk Songs, in which the tunes are derived from the Patrick MacDonald collection (see the first two CDs in this series, DDV24131 & DDV24132), and in the Celtic mythological basis of several of his ballets and operas.

Total 5 result(s).
Listen to Track Piobaireachd - The Salute for Clan Ranald
Listen to Track Sonatina no 1: Grave
Listen to Track Sonatina no 2: Allegro
Listen to Track Piobaireachd Lament no 1
Listen to Track Cornish Dance Sonata